Blog

Diversity and participation of women in leadership positions

Women make up half of the labor force in Canada. The levels of education attained by women in Canada are also comparable to those of men. But at the highest levels of leadership and management, women are not represented to the same extent as their composition in the labor force indicates. They face barriers to advancement. In fact, Canada lags behind other economically advanced countries in economic opportunities and political empowerment for women. According to a recent Statistics Canada study, women are underrepresented in leadership, corporate governance and strategic decision-making positions. Women belonging to visible minorities, aboriginals or disabled are the least represented. Intersecting identities, often overlooked, affect or prevent women's advancement in the labor market. What kinds of solutions can be sought to break down barriers and advance women of all identities in the labor market?
 
As this Statistics Canada study shows, one starting point is to examine the socio-economic characteristics of women in leadership. Variables such as family, professional and income disparities, in addition to the size of professional networks, influence the progression trajectories of women in the labor market and their inclusion. It is important to recognize how changing social and economic factors affect opportunities for women. The types of companies where women have the opportunity to contribute the most in leadership positions are also considered.
 
Like Statistics Canada, the Diversity Institute at Ryerson University created the Diversity Leads report to better understand the representation of women in leadership across various sectors. Using an intersectional approach, this report tracks and analyzes the representation of women, Black people and other visible minorities in board member roles in the corporate, volunteer, education and medical sectors. in eight Canadian cities. According to the Diversity Institute, women are underrepresented, but according to Statistics Canada reports, non-racialized women outnumber racialized women in the highest levels of leadership. There are also limitations to finding public quantitative data. Therefore, the report writers also sought out interviews with racialized minorities to understand experiences and identify potential solutions and strategies for change.

This article is part of the Systemic Engagement campaign. Funded by Heritage Canada:

Share this post

About

EcoAmbassadeurs is a non-profit organization offering services in the fields of health, education, entrepreneurship and ecology.

Recent Articles

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news.

Ask your question here!

Subscribe to our Newsletter to receive the latest news.

Blogue

Diversité et participation des femmes aux postes de direction

Les femmes représentent la moitié de la population active au Canada. Les niveaux de scolarité atteints par les femmes au Canada sont également comparables à ceux des hommes. Mais aux plus hauts niveaux de direction et de gestion, les femmes ne sont pas représentées dans la même mesure que leur composition dans la population active l’indique. Elles font face à des obstacles à l’avancement. En fait, le Canada accuse un retard par rapport à d’autres pays économiquement avancés concernant les possibilités économiques et l’autonomisation politique aux femmes. Selon une étude récente de Statistique Canada, les femmes sont sous-représentées dans les postes de direction, de gouvernance d’entreprise et de prise de décision stratégique. Les femmes appartenant à des minorités visibles, autochtones ou handicapées sont les moins représentées. Les identités croisées, souvent négligées, affectent ou empêchent l’avancement des femmes sur le marché du travail. Quels types de solutions peut-on rechercher pour faire tomber les barrières et faire progresser les femmes de toutes identités sur le marché du travail ?
 
Comme le montre cette étude de Statistique Canada, un point de départ consiste à examiner les caractéristiques socio-économiques des femmes en leadership. Des variables telles que les disparités familiales, professionnelles et de revenus, en plus de la taille des réseaux professionnels, influencent les trajectoires de progression des femmes sur le marché du travail et leur inclusion. Il est important de reconnaître comment l’évolution des facteurs sociaux et économiques affecte les opportunités pour les femmes. Les types d’entreprises où les femmes ont la possibilité de contribuer le plus à des postes de direction sont également pris en compte.
 
Comme Statistique Canada, le Diversity Institute de l’Université Ryerson a créé le rapport Diversity Leads pour mieux comprendre la représentation des femmes dans le leadership dans divers secteurs. Utilisant une approche intersectionnelle, ce rapport suit et analyse la représentation des femmes, des Noirs et d’autres minorités visibles dans les rôles de membres de conseils d’administration dans les secteurs des entreprises, du bénévolat, de l’éducation et de la médecine dans huit villes canadiennes. Selon le Diversity Institute, les femmes sont sous-représentées, mais selon les rapports de Statistique Canada, les femmes non racialisées sont plus nombreuses que les femmes racialisées dans les plus hauts niveaux de leadership. Il y a aussi des limites à la recherche de données quantitatives publiques. Par conséquent, les rédacteurs du rapport ont également recherché des entrevues avec des minorités racialisées pour comprendre les expériences et trouver des solutions potentielles et des stratégies de changement.

Cet article fait partie de la campagne Participation systémique. Financé par Héritage Canada :

Partager ce post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

À Propos

EcoAmbassadeurs est un organisme à but non-lucratif offrant des services dans les domaines de la santé, l’éducation, l’entreprendrait et l’écologie.

Articles récents

Infolettre

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre pour recevoir les dernières nouvelles.

Inscrivez-vous à notre Newsletter pour recevoir les dernières nouvelles.